Our University in Brief

Established as one of the Iraqi universities in 2007, Al-Muthanna University (MU) was
first known as a part of Al-Qadissia University in 2003. In 2007, MU moved from its
temporary premises at the branch of Al-Qadissia University, to the present
approximately 3.0 km from Al-Muthanna Governorate.
MU offers courses ranging from Natural Sciences, Applied Sciences, Medical, and Health
Sciences, Pharmaceutical Sciences to Building Science and Technology, Social Sciences,
Humanities, Agriculture Sciences, Economics and Management Sciences, and Education.
These are available at undergraduate levels at its 11 academic colleges on the main campus; 2 Colleges at the other Campus in Al-Muthanna City (approximately 4km from the main
campus); and 2 at the Health Campus beside the Euphrates river, Al-Muthanna City
(approximately 1.5km from the main campus).

The postgraduate levels (MSc, Ph.D., Board in Medicine Science) are given in only Natural
Sciences, Humanities, Agriculture Sciences, Economic and Management Sciences.
MU also has one research center for a wide range of specializations which is called Sawah
Al-Badiah center. It also provides consultancy, testing, and advisory services to the
industry under the ambit of the researcher the University’s commercial arm.
Since the beginning, MU has adopted the College system to ensure that its students are
multi-disciplined from their exposure to other areas of study by other Colleges. It also
encourages students to be active in extra-curricular activities given the myriad of clubs and
societies available. As a Research-Intensive University recognized by the Ministry of
Higher Education and Scientific Research in 2007, MU offers educational and research
opportunities to students and staff.

Program Outline

MU offers undergraduate and postgraduate programs that are conducted by the following

Main Campus

  1. College of Science
  2. College of Basic Education
  3. College of Humanities Education
  4. College of Engineering
  5. College of Physical Education and Sports Sciences
  6. College of Educational Science Studies
  7. College of Agriculture
  8. College of Literature
  9. College of Administration and Economics
  10. College of Nursing
  11. College Low

Health Campus 1

College of Medical Sciences

College of Pharmacy

Health Campus 2

College of Dental Sciences

College Veterinary Medicine